Connect with us


East Africa Community council of ministers to Sanction and suspend South Sudan from EAC over membership dues



Map showing six countries of East Africa and South Sudan

The Council of Ministers of the East Africa Legislative Assembly has adopted a resolution to sanction and suspend South Sudan from the Easty African Community if it fails to meet its obligations.

The Council sat in Arusha yesterday to decide the fate of South Sudan for failing to meet its membership dues amounting to 27 million US dollars.

South Sudan was given a grace period of 18 months to pay but failed to meet the deadline.

Speaking to Radio Miraya from Arusha Tanzania, a South Sudan Member of Parliament in the East Africa Legislative Assembly, Ayason Mukulia Kennedy said all member states voted in favour of the proposal, but says the final decision will be passed by the East Africa Heads of State at a summit in November.

Ayason says the South Sudanese legislators are pleading for more time to raise the money.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2014 Juba TV.