Connect with us


President Salva Kiir appoints six deputy Governors.



South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardit has this evening appointed six deputy governors in a presidential decree that was read on SSBC.

Swearing of judges in South Sudan by President Kiir.(Photo: file)
South Sudan by President Kiir presiding over a swearing in ceremony in Juba, South Sudan (Photo: file)

Among those who were appointed by the president was Mary Nadio Alphonse, a member of Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-In-Opposition (SPLM-IO) led by First Vice President, Riek Machar, as the deputy governor of Eastern Equatoria state.

Mr Kiir also appointed Antipas Nyok as the deputy governor of Jonglei state. Mr Nyok is a nominee of the SPLM Party led by President Salva Kiir.

For the Lakes State, the president appointed Mr Puoth Madit Dut of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-In-Opposition (SPLM-IO).

Tor Tungwar Kweiguong was appointed the deputy governor of Unity state. He is a member of Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-In-Opposition (SPLM-IO).

Angelo Taban Biago, the former governor of the now-defunct Wau state, has been appointed deputy governor of Western Bahr el Ghazal State. He was nominated by the SPLM Party ticket.

Kennedy Ganiko was appointed the deputy governor of Western Equatoria State. He was nominated by the SPLM Party.

The president did not appoint the deputy governors for Northern Bahr el Ghazal, Warrap and Central Equatoria states.

A few hours earlier, the Presidential Adviser for National Security Affair Tut Gatluak, had hinted that other political parties had not agree on allocations of positions of the three deputy governors.

According to Tut Gatluak, the government structures in Upper Nile State will be established after the conduct of a general conference involving sons and daughters of the state.

The presidential advisor said that the formation of the Transitional government will be completed by the first week of January 2021.

“By the first week of January, we would have completed the formation of the transitional government from national to state levels,” Gatluak said.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2014 Juba TV.

error: Content is protected !!